On Transportation: My First Taste of Coaching it to the Block

The coach left Adelaide at 8:30am and I was walking on my land by 10:45am. I spent most of the trip staring out the window–it really was a glorious day of weather. And knocked off a chapter and a half of Rob Hopkins’ “The Power of Just Doing Stuff”. The trip cost me $19.40 each way, so a total of $38.80 which is comparable to what it would have cost to fuel a car. I was back on the coach at 2:43pm on the dot, and alighted the bus in Adelaide at 4:48pm (20 minutes ahead of schedule).

The VLine Speedlink coach.

The VLine Speedlink coach.

The VLine (Dysons) coach was modern and comfortable and reeked of New Bus Smell. The check-in staff at the Adelaide Bus Station and the driver were friendly and professional and made the trip a breeze.

Could I make this trip regularly–probably departing on a Saturday and returning on a Sunday when I have some infrastructure in place? Definately. The VLine coach service is affordable, efficient, and a pleasant if relaxing way of making the journey out to the Murray Mallee.

5 thoughts on “On Transportation: My First Taste of Coaching it to the Block

  1. I had a funeral to attend in regional NSW on Thursday and made the trip on the XPT train as far as I could. The V-Line to Melbourne, the XPT to Wagga, carpooling to Temora and back to Wagga there is a coach from Cootamundra but it would have required I catch the earlier train which wasn’t possible with my husband taking time off work and I would then have been required to find accomodation rather than a cousins couch) and then the overnight train back to Melbourne and train back to Ballan again. Aside from being sought out for conversation in drunkanese on the way home I can’t fault the trip in the slightest. Miraculously the notoriously late service ran on time to the minute both ways as did my Ballan connections (thankfully) and yes, the time to think and read and look at the view (or sleep) was wonderful. Driving would have cost likely the same or more in fuel ($125 return trip on the train plus using my husbands monthly Myki in and out of town) and given the night trip up it would have been far more misky with me tired, emotional and driving.
    I think it was your plans to public transport to and from your block that really gave me the idea that training to NSW for the service was feasible so thank you.

  2. If I have to travel, I usually go by bus too. It’s much more relaxing. I take along a book, some craft (knitting, crochet, etc) and my iPod, so if nobody starts a conversation I’m set to entertain myself.

    On Mon, Feb 24, 2014 at 3:42 PM, Permaculture in the Mallee wrote:

    > Paul – Permie (soon to be) from the Mallee posted: “The coach left > Adelaide at 8:30am and I was walking on my land by 10:45am. I spent most of > the trip staring out the window–it really was a glorious day of weather. > And knocked off a chapter and a half of Rob Hopkins’ “The Power of Just > Doing Stuff”. The “

Leave a Reply

