Permaculture Books in Australia

This may be the first and only plug I write on Mallee Permie, but if you’re after permaculture and want to support an honest, small business, look no further than Adelaide-based, The Bookshelf of Oz (Judy of Oz). It’s where I bought my copy of “Introduction to Permaculture” (Second Edition) (Mollison, 2011). I’m about to order “Permaculture: Principles and Pathways Beyond Sustainability” by Holmgren. Being an Adelaidian, rather than getting the book posted, Judy was nice enough to invite me around to collect it. I cycled of course.

I have searched Adelaide bookshops high and low for permaculture titles and the shelves were barren, I tell you. Even secondhand bookshops. According to a few proprietors, permaculture titles are snapped up as soon as they hit the shelf. Which is very good news. It’s great that there are folk out there, amongst the crowd, that are interested in it.

One thought on “Permaculture Books in Australia

  1. I have hard copies of Permaculture One, Permaculture Two and Introduction to Permaculture (By Mollison, and Mollison and Holmgren)

    I also have soft copies of The Hand Sculpted House by Ianto Evans, Growing Gourmet and Medicinal Mushrooms, Mycelium Running, and The Mushroom Cultivator by Paul Stamets, Sepp Holzer’s Permaculture: A Practical Guide to Small-Scale, Integrative Farming and Gardening, Permaculture: A Designer’s Manual by Mollison, Edible Forest Gardens Volumes 1 & 2 by Eric Toensmeier and David Jacke, The One Straw Revolution by Masanobu Fukuoka, Gaia’s Garden by Toby Hemenway, Creating a Forest Garden by Martin Crawford, and Root Cellaring: Natural Cold Storage of Fruits & Vegetables by Mike and Nancy Bubel (I think I probably have others as well. Unfortunately the soft copies are spread between epub and PDF files, but I can convert the epubs to PDF easily enough if necessary.)

    I would be willing to lend you these books if you are trying to get your hands on some permaculture reading material.

Leave a Reply

